Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » 10-15 seconds on a 200 record DataSet (9.1)
10-15 seconds on a 200 record DataSet [message #402139] Thu, 07 May 2009 17:06 Go to next message
rboggess
I'm a process controls engineer developing an HMI in vb.net for a company that sells furnaces and software to efficiently control their furnaces. We don't actually operate any of those furnaces here.

As a part of the custom solutions we provide, we often times are asked to integrate our furnace automation software with an existing order tracking system. Most often, it's enough to make our data available in any database format, or not at all. In which case, we use SQL Server Express because it's free and it integrates well with vb.net, which is what all the HMIs are (well, nearly so).

This particular customer (and several following) are using Oracle, and usually those licenses (and the boxes they're installed on) are brand new, purchased by us, and delivered as part of the solution. In this case, however, it's a VMS box, and it's currently in use (which is often the case when it's VMS). So, we have a VMS box here with a copy of Oracle 9.1 running, just for development purposes.

I've seen several posts here, and more than I can count on the world wide web, about slow performance with DataSets, but none of them with a mere 200 records or so. And I had thought that it was because the database has never been tuned and it's running on a very old VMS box. It has several abandoned databases with tables, but no stored procedures and is not otherwise in use. And I don't (can't) tune it, and we don't have a DBA. We don't really care how slow it runs on our system, since we don't actually use it for anything but testing our software.